Bankrupt Without Love

 

I’m going to talk about something serious. Something so important that it’s life changing. This “something” is love. Love is just as, if not more, than important as faith. Without love your faith is useless.

In Galatians 5:6 it says “For in Christ Jesus neither circumcision nor uncircumcision counts for anything, but only faith working through love.” If faith working through love counts for something that must mean faith without love counts for nothing.

In 1 Corinthians 13:1-3 it says “If I speak with human eloquence and angelic ecstasy but don’t love, I’m nothing but the creaking of a rusty gate. If I speak God’s Word with power, revealing all his mysteries and making everything plain as day, and if I have faith that says to a mountain, “Jump,” and it jumps, but I don’t love, I’m nothing.If I give everything I own to the poor and even go to the stake to be burned as a martyr, but I don’t love, I’ve gotten nowhere. So, no matter what I say, what I believe, and what I do, I’m bankrupt without love.” What it’s saying is that if you don’t love, nothing you do matters, nothing what you believe matters.

And later in the chapter it says “faith, hope, and love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love.” Paul (the author) says that the three most important virtues are faith, hope, and love. But he also says that the most important virtue is love.

The Bible says “Love your neighbor” and “Love your enemy” countless of times. It just talks about love a lot in general. So it’s easy to tell how important love is.

You can not be a true Christian if you don’t love. But if you are a true Christian it will be nearly impossible not to love. Here is a metaphor. Faith and love are your legs. If you don’t have one of your legs you can barely stand and you just wobble a lot. But if you have both of your legs you are able to stand and are balanced. That’s the same thing with faith. If you only have faith then your life is off balance. But if you have both faith and love, your life is balanced.

Love is so important that it’s a necessity in life. Faith needs love by it’s side, and you won’t go to heave n just with faith. I mean, why would God, who’s a perfect example of love let someone who is hateful in Heaven. If you have faith that means that you believe in God and if you love that truly means you are a child of God. In closing, you are bankrupt without love.

Leave a Reply

