Matthew 4:9; The Verse That’s Used Out of Context the Most.

Matthew 4 is when we learn that Jesus was tempted by Satan. Satan first tells him, “If you are the Son of God, tell these stones to become bread.” But Jesus said, “It is written: ‘Man shall not love on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.'” He told Satan no.

Then Satan tells Jesus to jump off of the highest point of the temple. But Jesus once again told him no. And finally the devil took to a very high mountain, showed Jesus everything, and said, “All this I will give to you, if you will bow down and worship me.” (Some versions add just once.) And Jesus said, “Away from me, Satan! For it is written: ‘Worship the Lord your God, and serve him only'”

I want to focus on the last temptation. Mostly on the Matthew 4:9 which says, “All this I will give you,” he said, “if you will bow down and worship me.” People like to use a lot of verses out of context. Sometimes accidental, sometimes on purpose. What ever the case they do it. Matthew 4:9 is used out of context all the time. Prosperity gospel “pastors” (they are not pastors they are false prophets, but that’s for another time) use it. It makes sense why they would. I mean prosperity gospel is a set of teachings that say that if you put your faith in God (and give money to the ministers) that he will financially bless you. Or deliver his promises of security and prosperity.

That’s not the God I serve. I serve the God who is Jehovah Jireh, my provider. He provides all my needs. I serve a just God. I serve a God who is a jealous God. He doesn’t promise a perfect life. Following God does not equal wealth and security. It equals hardships and victories, valleys and mountains. I put my faith in God because I am a mess. I can not stand without Him.

Sorry for going a little off topic but it had to be said. Anyways they use Matthew 4:9 is used out of context because it sounds good. It sounds pleasing and easy. In some versions like the NIV it sits all alone. That’s the danger of not reading the verses before and after it. If it sits all alone it doesn’t say who said it. But if you read the whole chapter, understand what is happening, or understand that God and Jesus would never say “All this I will give you if you will bow down and worship me.” Only Satan would say that. I heard that quote and automatically knew it wasn’t of God.

Moral of the story, be careful when you quote scripture. Make sure you understand what’s going around the verse (what happened before and what happens after the verse.

Have a wonderful day.

3 thoughts on “Matthew 4:9; The Verse That’s Used Out of Context the Most.

  1. That is why I like to go to site that explain what verse mean in the culture and society of the day. For example when it says in Revelations about a denari for an ephoph of barley it means a days wages for enough bread for the day and barley was what the poor people ate. Do not touch the wine or oil refers to the rich. In other words the rich get richer and the poor get poorer.

Leave a Reply

