In the Beginning

We all know Genesis 1:1-2, “In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth. The earth was without form and void, and darkness was over the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters.” But what does this mean? Have we ever sat down and thought this through. “Well, let’s see here, in the beginning God created the universe.” Yea that’s just right, but it’s just icing on the cake. There’s a deeper meaning in this verse.

First, let’s take this verse apart.

“In the beginning,” The beginning of time, the beginning of everything. The dawn of creation. “God created the heavens and the earth,” God was around before the beginning. He’s everlasting. He created the moon, the planets, the stars, everything in the universe. He created the earth and everything on it.

“The earth was without form and void, and darkness was over the face of the deep,” The earth was nothing. God created everything out of nothing. The earth wasn’t even a molecule. There was no light. “And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters,” God was thinking of what he wanted to do. He was expecting great things. He knew very well that things were going to turn sour. But He still made the earth. God was anticipating his plans to unfold. God was planning.

Now for the messy part. Let’s put this verse back together and make it relevant. (When you read this next part, read it as if you believe it.)

In the beginning of my life, God created me. I was without form and void. Darkness was over me. And the Spirit of God was hovering over me expecting great things for me. Planning my life.

When I was but a speck in my mother’s womb God was thinking of me. He was planning something big for me. He was anticipating great things.

This is the deeper meaning of Genesis 1:1-2.

God bless.

2 thoughts on “In the Beginning

  1. I am reminded of a few things here, Jeremiah… Christ was also there at Creation, along with the Holy Spirit hovering overhead… We know this because of the apostle John’s writing…

    John 1:1-5, 14… In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 2 He was in the beginning with God. 3 All things were made through Him, and without Him nothing was made that was made. 4 In Him was life, and the life was the light of men. 5 And the light shines in the darkness, and the darkness did not comprehend it. 14 And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we beheld His glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father, full of grace and truth. (NKJV)

    “When I was but a speck in my mother’s womb God was thinking of me.” This reminds me of John leaping in Elizabeth’s womb at the sound of Mary’s voice…

    Luke 1:41-44… And it happened, when Elizabeth heard the greeting of Mary, that the babe leaped in her womb; and Elizabeth was filled with the Holy Spirit. 42 Then she spoke out with a loud voice and said, “Blessed are you among women, and blessed is the fruit of your womb! 43 But why is this granted to me, that the mother of my Lord should come to me? 44 For indeed, as soon as the voice of your greeting sounded in my ears, the babe leaped in my womb for joy. (NKJV)

    A thought provoking post !!

    Blessings in Christ, bruce

Leave a Reply

