Peace of Mind

Image result for multiple thoughts

 

Have you ever struggled with making a decision? Have you ever suffered from a fogged mind, that clouds you with different- possibly contradictory- thoughts? If you are confused by what I’m asking let me give you an example.

A little over two weeks ago, I returned home from a missions trip in Ecuador. I was flooded with emotions, I guess you could say I had an emotional high. Which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. But it caused me to have these thoughts like, “Maybe I shouldn’t go to this college, I should go to this program.” I also felt the “call” to missions, and not to youth ministry as I felt originally called to. See, they all contradicted each other and what I felt called to do before the missions trip. And the worst part is, each voice that was in my head, was saying it was God.

This caused me to have the worst anxiety and the worst stress I have ever experienced. Here I am, a senior in High School, being bombarded with ideas that completely changed my plan for college and my career, at the worst possible moment. Instead of starting the application process for colleges, I started changing my mind. I was completely confused and my mind was completely fogged.

So what did I do? I prayed. I sought guidance and clarity from the One the Psalmist speaks of in Psalm 32:8, “I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go. I will counsel you with my loving eye on you.” I did as God says in Jeremiah 33:3, “Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.”

I did what Peter instructed in 1 Peter 5:7, “Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” I gave him all my fears, anxiety, worries, stress. I gave him everything. I cried out to Him with a broken heart.

Not only did I cry out to Him and pray, but I also took delight in Him. Psalms 37:4 says, “Take delight in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart.” If you make it your priority to delight in the One that deserves your worship, He will give you your desires. It’s important to remember that God won’t give you all your desires, he will give you the desires that are the most important and that align with His plan for your life.

Jesus says in Matthew 6:33, “Seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” We can not focus on the things of this world. Yeah choosing the right college is important. Yes your career is important, but we can not focus on those things. If we seek God first, he will lead us to the right college, to the right career, to the right spouse, etc. My priority is not to worry about where I will go for school and training. My priority is not to figure out my calling and my career. My priority is to seek God and his righteousness. Once I begin seeking him, then HE will give me what I need. HE will guide me in the way that I should go.

While I asked for clarity and guidance, I realized that I also must wait for God. Psalms 37:7 says, “Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him.” Personally, that was hard to do. I didn’t want to wait. I mean, I don’t have a lot of time to decide what I should do for college. But I must wait for God. I realized that the right move was to wait patiently for him. I realized that doing what He wanted me to do was more important than what I wanted. I waited for him to speak. I waited for him to guide me. And he did.

I received clarity about what to do for college, and I know without a shadow of doubt that it’s not emotion. He gave me peace of mind. When I surrendered my life to him, and my desires to him, I began to receive peace. As I began to realize that the purpose of my life and my calling is to bring God glory and not me, I began to not stress about it as much. When I began to give God glory and honor, and began making him big in my own life, I began believing that I will be all right.

My friends, that’s the key. We must realize that IT’S NOT ABOUT US. It’s about God. It’s for His glory, not ours. When we step aside and let him reign, he will guide us in the path of righteousness. Psalms 23:1&3 says, “The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing. He guides me along the right paths for HIS NAME’S SAKE.” Notice that it does not say, “My name sake,” it says “His name’s sake.” God guides us for his glory and honor. He gives us everything we need to show that he is God and there is no other.

So, in closing, if you are ever in the same situation as I am, remember do not rely on yourself. Look to God. Seek. Delight. Worship. Cry Out. Trust. Wait Patiently.

One thought on “Peace of Mind

Leave a Reply

